COMPUTE ATLAS Supercomputer supply-chain graph
1153 systems 482 sites Sourced data

AI datacenters/Power sources

AI datacenters

How AI campuses are powered

Power, not chips, is now the scarce input for large AI campuses, and where it comes from has become a design choice: grid connections that take years, gas turbines built beside the data hall, utilities building new gas plants for one customer, restarts of nuclear plants, and geothermal or hydro in places that have it. 70 sourced records cover 35 campuses. The capacities are what the operator, a utility or a filing says, not what has been delivered.

Nameplate is not firm. A 1 GW gas plant, a 500 MW solar contract and a 200 MW grid connection are different kinds of supply, and the record for one campus often includes several. Records sum only within a source type here, and the chart mixes campuses at very different stages.

  • Operating or contracted
  • Planned or permitted
Power capacity recorded for AI campuses by source type Horizontal bars of the summed capacity in megawatts of each power source type recorded for AI campuses, split into operating or contracted and planned or permitted. Grid 22 campuses Grid: 3,250 MW operating or contracted, 3,560 MW planned or permitted Grid: 3,250 MW operating or contracted, 3,560 MW planned or permitted 6,810 MW Utility gas plant 3 campuses Utility gas plant: 0 MW operating or contracted, 6,700 MW planned or permitted Utility gas plant: 0 MW operating or contracted, 6,700 MW planned or permitted 6,700 MW On-site gas 6 campuses On-site gas: 2,107 MW operating or contracted, 4,230 MW planned or permitted On-site gas: 2,107 MW operating or contracted, 4,230 MW planned or permitted 6,337 MW Nuclear 3 campuses Nuclear: 2,176 MW operating or contracted, 1,890 MW planned or permitted Nuclear: 2,176 MW operating or contracted, 1,890 MW planned or permitted 4,066 MW Wind and solar 8 campuses Wind and solar: 1,871 MW operating or contracted, 1,500 MW planned or permitted Wind and solar: 1,871 MW operating or contracted, 1,500 MW planned or permitted 3,371 MW Fuel cells 2 campuses Fuel cells: 0 MW operating or contracted, 2,450 MW planned or permitted Fuel cells: 0 MW operating or contracted, 2,450 MW planned or permitted 2,450 MW Other 4 campuses Other: 0 MW operating or contracted, 900 MW planned or permitted Other: 0 MW operating or contracted, 900 MW planned or permitted 900 MW Hydro 3 campuses Hydro: 0 MW operating or contracted, 230 MW planned or permitted Hydro: 0 MW operating or contracted, 230 MW planned or permitted 230 MW Battery storage 8 campuses Battery storage: 200 MW operating or contracted, 0 MW planned or permitted Battery storage: 200 MW operating or contracted, 0 MW planned or permitted 200 MW 0 GW1.7 GW3.4 GW5.1 GW6.8 GW
Summed stated capacity by source type. A source with no stated capacity adds nothing to a bar, so a short bar can mean unknown.
Table view: Power capacity recorded for AI campuses by source type
Source typeCampusesOperating or contracted (MW)Planned or permitted (MW)
Grid2232503560
Utility gas plant306700
On-site gas621074230
Nuclear321761890
Wind and solar818711500
Fuel cells202450
Other40900
Hydro30230
Battery storage82000
Geothermal200

By campus

CampusSourceProviderMWStatusAs ofBasisSource linkNote
AWS Madison Mega Site (Canton) Grid Entergy Mississippi - operating 2026-10 Third-party estimate mississippi.org Mississippi Development Authority says Entergy Mississippi long-term power commitment was a key factor in Amazon expanding in Mississippi; no MW stated.
AWS Ridgeland Campus Grid Entergy Mississippi - operating 2026-10 Third-party estimate mississippi.orgepoch.ai Mississippi Development Authority cites Entergy Mississippi power commitment for Amazon; Epoch lists Entergy as the energy company for Ridgeland. No MW stated.
Crusoe Abilene Campus (Microsoft) Other Crusoe 900 planned 2026-03 Operator stated crusoe.aitheregister.com Crusoe states a 900 MW behind-the-meter on-site plant for the two-building campus. Fuel undisclosed; The Register guesses gas turbines or fuel cells.
Crusoe Abilene Campus (Microsoft) Battery storage Crusoe - planned 2026-03 Operator stated crusoe.ai Medium-voltage battery energy storage paired with the 900 MW on-site plant; MW and MWh not stated.
Delta Forge 1 (Rapides Parish) Grid Cleco Power 430 planned 2026-07 Regulatory filing louisianaaihub.com Cleco large-load application, LPSC Docket U-38035, pending; Cleco discloses about 430 MW of additional load. Campus is 300 MW IT. Source is a third-party filings digest.
Galaxy Helios (CoreWeave) Grid - 1,600 permitted 2026-01 Regulatory filing sec.gov 10-K: ERCOT approved over 1.6 GW gross at Helios (800 MW earlier plus 830 MW in Jan 2026). First 133 MW of IT load uses about 200 MW gross.
IREN Childress Horizons 1-4 (Microsoft) Grid - 750 contracted 2026-06 Operator stated sec.goviren.com 10-K: Childress, Texas 750 MW planned gross capacity on ERCOT with market-priced power and RECs; 10-K cites executed grid connection agreements, about 5 GW across sites.
IREN Sweetwater Hub Grid - 2,000 contracted 2026-06 Operator stated sec.goviren.com 10-K: Sweetwater 1 (1,400 MW) plus Sweetwater 2 (600 MW) planned gross capacity on ERCOT; 10-K cites executed grid connection agreements. Sum of two lines.
Meta Cheyenne (Wyoming) Grid Black Hills Energy - operating 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.com Meta says it worked with Black Hills Energy to plan energy for the Cheyenne data center and pays full costs; no MW stated.
Meta Cheyenne (Wyoming) Wind and solar - 365 contracted 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.com Meta says one Wyoming project it supports adds 365 MW of new clean energy to the grid. Used to match its electricity use; not a direct supply to the site.
Meta Cheyenne (Wyoming) Battery storage - 200 contracted 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.com The same Wyoming project Meta supports adds 200 MW of battery storage to the grid; a grid-side addition, not on-site storage.
Meta El Paso (Texas) Grid El Paso Electric - planned 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.comdatacenters.atmeta.com Meta says it worked with El Paso Electric to plan energy supply and pays full costs; plans clean energy additions to the El Paso grid. No MW stated.
Meta Hyperion Utility gas plant Entergy Louisiana 1,500 permitted 2025-12 Regulatory filing entergy.comentergy.com Franklin Farms: two CCCT units, about 1,500 MW, online late 2028 (LPSC approved 20 Aug 2025). A third CCCT at Waterford is due end 2029; its MW is not stated.
Meta Hyperion Utility gas plant Entergy Louisiana 5,200 planned 2026-04 Operator stated finance.yahoo.comenr.com Seven more gas plants, over 5.2 GW, paid by Meta under a 15-year contract. LPSC voted 4-1 on 15 Apr 2026 on the fast-track request (KSLA); final vote Dec 2026.
Meta Hyperion Wind and solar Entergy Louisiana 1,500 permitted 2025-08 Regulatory filing entergy.comksla.com LPSC authorised Entergy Louisiana to procure up to 1,500 MW of solar (20 Aug 2025). Meta later said it will help fund up to 2,500 MW of new renewables.
Meta Hyperion Nuclear Entergy Louisiana - planned 2026-04 Operator stated ksla.comenr.com Entergy plan includes nuclear up-rates at existing sites and a Meta nuclear MOU (ENR). No MW or PPA terms; cost-of-service arrangement, not a PPA.
Meta Lebanon (Indiana) Grid Wabash Valley Power Alliance - planned 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.comabout.fb.com Meta worked with Wabash Valley Power Alliance and Boone REMC to plan energy for the 1 GW campus; no MW of supply stated.
Meta Lebanon (Indiana) Grid Boone REMC - planned 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.comabout.fb.com Distribution co-op, called Boone Power in the info sheet, named alongside Wabash Valley Power Alliance for the Lebanon campus; no MW stated.
Meta Lebanon (Indiana) Wind and solar - 409 contracted 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.com Meta says four Indiana projects it supports add 409 MW of new clean energy to the grid. Used to match its electricity use; not a direct supply to the site.
Meta Montgomery (Alabama) Grid Alabama Power Company - operating 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.com Meta says it worked with Alabama Power Company to plan energy for the Montgomery data center and pays full costs; no MW stated.
Meta Prometheus On-site gas Williams Companies 200 operating 2026-08 Regulatory filing power-eng.comepoch.ai Socrates South behind-the-meter plant, OPSB-approved 9 Jun 2025, 200 MW. Epoch drone video (Aug 2026) saw 138.8 MW running, about 69%. Part of a 400 MW project.
Meta Prometheus On-site gas Williams Companies 200 permitted 2026-08 Regulatory filing mgrid.orgepoch.ai Socrates North, second 200 MW site; mgrid says OPSB approved both (400 MW), Power Engineering describes South only. Epoch: turbines installed, none running Aug 2026.
Meta Prometheus On-site gas Williams Companies 250 planned 2026-08 Third-party estimate epoch.ai Epoch: Socrates the Younger plant announced at a maximum of 250 MW, operational Q3 2028 on project schedule. Single source.
Meta Prometheus Grid American Electric Power - operating 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.comepoch.ai Meta says it worked with AEP to plan energy for New Albany. Epoch lists American Electric Power and Williams as energy companies. No grid MW stated.
Meta Prometheus Wind and solar - 847 contracted 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.com Meta says five Ohio projects it supports add 847 MW of new clean energy to the grid. Used to match its electricity use; not a direct supply to the site.
Meta Prometheus Nuclear Vistra 2,176 contracted 2026-01 Operator stated world-nuclear-news.orgutilitydive.com 20-year PPAs for 2,176 MW from Perry and Davis-Besse (Ohio) plus uprate energy; purchases begin late 2026. Announced as supporting Prometheus.
Meta Prometheus Nuclear Oklo 1,200 planned 2026-01 Operator stated world-nuclear-news.orgutilitydive.com Oklo advanced nuclear campus in Pike County, Ohio; Meta prepays power. First phase from 2030, 1.2 GW by 2034, delivered into the PJM grid.
Meta Prometheus Nuclear TerraPower 690 planned 2026-01 Operator stated world-nuclear-news.orgutilitydive.com Meta funds two Natrium units of up to 690 MW from 2032, with rights to energy from up to six more units (2.1 GW) by 2035.
Meta Rosemount (Minnesota) Grid Xcel Energy - operating 2026-10 Operator stated datacenters.atmeta.com Meta says it worked with Xcel Energy to plan energy for the Rosemount data center and pays full costs; no MW stated.
Microsoft Azure AI datacenter (Narvik, Norway) Hydro - 230 planned 2026-10 Operator stated nscale.comnscale.com Nscale: 230 MW initial capacity run on renewable hydropower, with up to 290 MW more possible. Supplier not named; page undated, as_of is retrieval month.
Microsoft Fairwater (Atlanta) Grid Georgia Power - operating 2025-11 Operator stated blogs.microsoft.comepoch.ai Microsoft: highly available utility power lets Atlanta skip on-site generation and UPS. It does not name the utility; Epoch lists Georgia Power. No MW stated.
Microsoft Fairwater (Atlanta) Battery storage Microsoft - planned 2025-11 Operator stated blogs.microsoft.com Microsoft describes an on-site energy storage solution to mask power oscillations from large training jobs; capacity not stated.
Microsoft Fairwater (Wisconsin) Grid We Energies - operating 2025-09 Operator stated blogs.microsoft.comepoch.ai Microsoft pre-pays energy and electrical infrastructure under WE Energies tariffs for Mount Pleasant; no MW stated. Epoch lists WE Energies as the energy company.
Microsoft Fairwater (Wisconsin) Wind and solar - 250 contracted 2025-09 Operator stated blogs.microsoft.com New 250 MW Portage County solar project, under construction, to match fossil-sourced kWh one for one. An offset on the grid, not a direct supply.
Nebius Iceland Cluster Hydro Verne - operating 2025-03 Operator stated verne.conebius.com Nebius 10 MW cluster at Verne Keflavik runs on Iceland hydroelectric and geothermal power per both Verne and Nebius. No split by source disclosed.
Nebius Iceland Cluster Geothermal Verne - operating 2025-03 Operator stated verne.conebius.com Nebius 10 MW cluster at Verne Keflavik runs on Iceland hydroelectric and geothermal power per both Verne and Nebius. No split by source disclosed.
Nebius Independence AI Factory Grid Independence Power and Light - planned 2026-03 Operator stated nebius.com Campus connects to Independence Power and Light, the municipal utility, structured not to raise residential rates. Up to 1.2 GW is campus capacity, not grid MW.
Nebius Vineland (Microsoft) Other - - planned 2025-03 Operator stated nebius.com Nebius says the New Jersey site (expandable to 300 MW) uses behind-the-meter electricity and advanced energy technology; generation type not disclosed.
Nscale Verne Iceland Cluster Hydro Verne - operating 2026-10 Operator stated verne.conscale.com Verne Keflavik campus (over 140 MW) states it runs on hydroelectric and geothermal power; Nscale deploys 15 MW there. No split by source disclosed.
Nscale Verne Iceland Cluster Geothermal Verne - operating 2026-10 Operator stated verne.conscale.com Verne states Keflavik runs on hydroelectric and geothermal power; Nscale deploys 15 MW. No split by source disclosed.
Omnia Pecem (TikTok) Wind and solar Casa dos Ventos - contracted 2026-05 Third-party estimate thenextweb.com TNW citing Reuters: about 2 bn USD energy supply deal with Casa dos Ventos for wind power to the 200 MW campus; a 350 MW wind asset earmarked. Term and MW unstated.
Project Jade (Cheyenne) On-site gas Tallgrass Energy - planned 2026-06 Design target cowboystatedaily.com Cheyenne Power Hub: Tallgrass gas facility with large turbine generators, behind the meter. Campus approved to 2.7 GW; generation MW not stated. Crusoe exited.
Project Jade (Cheyenne) Fuel cells Tallgrass Energy - planned 2026-06 Design target cowboystatedaily.com Fuel-cell systems are named as part of the Cheyenne Power Hub alongside turbines; MW not stated.
Project Jade (Cheyenne) Grid Black Hills Energy - planned 2026-01 Regulatory filing cowboystatedaily.com Black Hills Energy filed a CPCN in Jan 2026 for a substation supporting the project; the campus is designed to generate its own power rather than draw from the grid.
Project Rainier Utility gas plant NiSource - permitted 2026-06 Regulatory filing nisource.comnisource.com IURC approved on 17 Jun 2026 the Amazon contract, PPA and NIPSCO combined-cycle gas resources. Release says northern Indiana; the link to Rainier is inferred.
Project Rainier Battery storage NiSource - permitted 2026-06 Regulatory filing nisource.comnisource.com IURC also approved NIPSCO battery storage for the Amazon agreement on 17 Jun 2026. Release does not name the campus; link to Rainier is inferred. No MW stated.
River Bend (Fluidstack) Grid Entergy Louisiana 330 planned 2025-12 Regulatory filing sec.gov 10-K: River Bend 330 MW total utility capacity under construction; Hut 8 worked with Entergy Louisiana on interconnection. 245 MW of IT leased.
SINES Data Campus GB300 Deployment Other Start Campus - operating 2026-10 Operator stated nscale.com Start Campus says the SINES campus uses 100% renewable energy; contract form (PPA, grid mix or certificates) and MW not disclosed. Page undated.
Stargate Abilene Grid - 1,200 planned 2025-03 Design target crusoe.aiepoch.ai Crusoe states a 1.2 GW grid interconnection (ERCOT) for the campus. Epoch: 200 MW substation built, a 1 GW substation near completion by Jul 2026.
Stargate Abilene Grid American Electric Power 200 operating 2026-07 Third-party estimate epoch.aiepoch.ai Epoch: 200 MW substation (built 2022, expanded 2024) serves the first buildings. Epoch lists American Electric Power as the energy company for the site.
Stargate Abilene On-site gas Crusoe 360 operating 2026-07 Regulatory filing texastribune.orgepoch.ai Texas Tribune: 360 MW on-site gas plant of 10 turbines under TCEQ minor permits; a proposed expansion adds 41 turbines. Epoch counts 10 turbines by imagery.
Stargate Abilene Battery storage Crusoe - planned 2025-03 Operator stated crusoe.ai Crusoe says the Lancium power plan includes large-scale behind-the-meter battery storage; no MW or MWh stated.
Stargate Abilene Wind and solar - - planned 2025-03 Operator stated crusoe.aiepoch.ai Crusoe cites behind-the-meter solar and use of nearby wind; Epoch lists local wind. No capacity or contract disclosed.
Stargate Michigan (Saline Township) Grid DTE Energy - planned 2026-06 Operator stated related.comepoch.ai Related Digital: DTE supplies all power from existing resources, paid by the project. Epoch also lists DTE as the 100% supplier. MW not stated.
Stargate Michigan (Saline Township) Battery storage DTE Energy - planned 2026-06 Operator stated related.comepoch.ai New battery storage financed by the project; Related Digital estimates 300 million USD of grid savings for DTE customers. MW not stated.
Stargate Milam County Other SB Energy - planned 2026-01 Operator stated prnewswire.comepoch.ai SB Energy plans new generation (type undisclosed) for the 1.2 GW site; first SB Energy facilities enter service from 2026. Epoch lists on-site, type unknown.
Stargate Port Washington (Lighthouse) Grid We Energies - planned 2025-10 Operator stated vantage-dc.comepoch.ai Vantage: We Energies supplies power, 70% from zero-emission sources (solar, wind, battery), rest matched with renewable purchases. Campus is 902 MW of IT load.
Stargate Project Jupiter (New Mexico) Fuel cells Bloom Energy 2,450 planned 2026-04 Operator stated oracle.comelpasomatters.org Up to 2.45 GW installed Bloom fuel cells in one microgrid, replacing the earlier plan of 700 to 900 MW of gas turbines and diesel. Fuel not stated by Oracle.
Stargate Shackelford County (Frontier) On-site gas VoltaGrid 2,580 planned 2026-04 Third-party estimate cleanview.coepoch.ai Off-grid gas microgrid; Cleanview tallies INNIO Jenbacher engines at 2.58 GW gross. Epoch confirms on-site gas. Oracle-VoltaGrid 2.3 GW deal names only Texas.
Stargate UAE Nuclear - - planned 2025-05 Design target g42.ai G42: the 5 GW UAE-US AI campus (home of the 1 GW Stargate UAE cluster) will be powered by nuclear, solar and natural gas. No supplier, MW split or PPA disclosed.
Stargate UAE Wind and solar - - planned 2025-05 Design target g42.ai G42 names solar as one of three planned sources for the 5 GW campus; no supplier, MW or contract disclosed.
Stargate UAE Utility gas plant - - planned 2025-05 Design target g42.ai G42 names natural gas as one of three planned sources for the 5 GW campus; no supplier, MW or contract disclosed.
xAI Colossus Grid Memphis Light, Gas and Water 150 operating 2025-05 Regulatory filing mlgw.comrenewableenergyworld.com Paul Lowry site draws 150 MW from the TVA/MLGW grid (8 MW existing plus 142 MW new substation); TVA board approved it. xAI must curtail when grid demand is high.
xAI Colossus Grid Memphis Light, Gas and Water 150 contracted 2026-02 Regulatory filing wsmv.commlgw.com Second 150 MW step (300 MW total). TVA board approved an extra 150 MW of firm power in Feb 2026; WSMV omits the site, MLGW lists the second step at Paul Lowry.
xAI Colossus On-site gas xAI 247 operating 2025-07 Regulatory filing measuredai.substack.comcleanview.co Shelby County permit for 15 Solar SMT-130 turbines, about 247 MW (MeasuredAI). Cleanview counts 12 turbines, about 198 MW.
xAI Colossus Battery storage Tesla - operating 2026-05 Operator stated sec.govmeasuredai.substack.com S-1 says Megapacks add redundancy and cover grid curtailment at COLOSSUS; no MW stated. MeasuredAI counts 240+ Megapacks, Cleanview 119 (about 120 MW).
xAI Colossus 2 On-site gas xAI 1,300 operating 2026-05 Third-party estimate cleanview.cosec.gov Cleanview counts about 59 temporary mobile turbines (about 1.3 GW) at Southaven in May 2026. S-1 confirms a self-built gigawatt-scale gas plant can run COLOSSUS II alone.
xAI Colossus 2 On-site gas xAI 1,200 permitted 2026-03 Regulatory filing selc.orgmeasuredai.substack.com MDEQ permit 10 Mar 2026 for 41 turbines (17 PGM-130, 16 Titan 350, 8 PE6000); about 1.2 GW is MeasuredAI and Cleanview sum of unit ratings. Cleanview: not yet installed.
xAI Colossus 2 Battery storage Tesla - operating 2026-05 Operator stated sec.govmeasuredai.substack.com S-1 cites the largest Megapack deployment integrated with its data centers; MeasuredAI cites over 375 million USD of Megapacks at Colossus 2. No MW given.
xAI Colossus 2 Grid Memphis Light, Gas and Water - planned 2026-05 Operator stated sec.govmlgw.com S-1: COLOSSUS II to be supplemented over time by utility-funded grid capacity. MLGW (May 2025) had grid options of 260 MW to 1.1 GW under discussion, no final request.

Source types

Grid. Utility grid supply.

On-site gas. Gas turbines or engines on the campus, owned or contracted by the operator.

Utility gas plant. New gas generation built by a utility for the campus.

Nuclear. Nuclear supply, restart or small-reactor agreements.

Wind and solar. Wind or solar power purchase agreements.

Hydro. Hydroelectric supply.

Geothermal. Geothermal supply.

Battery storage. Battery systems on the campus.

Fuel cells. On-site fuel cells.

Other. Other sources.