Supercomputers/Systems/Microsoft Azure AI datacenter (Narvik, Norway)
Norway · under construction · ai training
Microsoft Azure AI datacenter (Narvik, Norway)
Deep dive: How Nebius and Nscale build GPU clouds
Operated by Microsoft at Nscale Narvik campus .
Phase 1 seed dataset, compiled by hand. These rows were built from public operator, laboratory and vendor sources. A mechanical second-reader pass has since fetched every cited source: 1092 of 1153 systems have a readable citation that names them, and 40 are genuinely weakly sourced. Every claim carries its source and a confidence tier. Treat anything below verified as a lead, not a citation.
Measured performance
- Rmax
- -
- Rpeak
- -
- Rmax ÷ Rpeak
- -
- Cores
- -
- Power
- -
- Per watt
- - GF/W
Figures are as last publicly reported for the configuration described below, not a live measurement. Where a system was upgraded in place, the post-upgrade configuration is shown and the earlier one appears in the timeline.
What this machine is made of
One row per supplier relationship. “Supplier at build” is the company that shipped the part at the time; where that company has since been acquired, the parent it rolls up to today is shown beside it. That distinction is what makes ticker-level aggregation possible across a thirty-year dataset.
| Role | Part | Supplier at build | Quantity | Confidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Integrator | - Nscale's Narvik campus, built and operated by Nscale under a five-year capacity agreement with Microsoft | Nscale | - | Verified | news.microsoft.comnscale.com |
| Accelerator | NVIDIA Vera Rubin Accelerators More than 30,000 NVIDIA Rubin GPUs planned for the 230MW Narvik campus | NVIDIA | 30,000 reported | Reported | nscale.com |
AI datacenter metrics
Figures beyond an accelerator count, each with who stated it. What can and cannot be compared across AI datacenters.
| Metric | Value | As of | Basis | Note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accelerators | 30,000 accelerators | 2026-04 | Design target | '30,000+' NVIDIA Rubin GPUs to be added at the 230 MW Narvik campus, deployment 2027 per Nscale (Apr 2026). Plan. | nscale.com |
| Facility power | 230 MW | 2026-04-14 | Design target | Nscale: 230 MW at the Narvik campus for 30,000+ Rubin GPUs deploying 2027; IT vs total not specified. Campus-level. | nscale.com |
How it is powered
| Source | Provider | MW | Status | As of | Basis | Note | Source link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydro | - | 230 | planned | 2026-10 | Operator stated | Nscale: 230 MW initial capacity run on renewable hydropower, with up to 290 MW more possible. Supplier not named; page undated, as_of is retrieval month. | nscale.comnscale.com |
How AI campuses are powered: capacities are what the operator, utility or filing states, not what has been delivered.
Compute deals
- 2026-04-14: Microsoft and Nscale (cloud contract , 230 MW). nscale.comdatacenter-forum.com
- 2025-09-17: Microsoft and Nscale (cloud contract , headline $6.2bn). filingreader.comnews.microsoft.com
- 2025-07-31: OpenAI and Nscale (cloud contract , 230 MW). nscale.comdatacenter-forum.com
All compute deals. Headline values are as announced, not additive.
The read
A five-year, $6.2 billion capacity agreement under which Nscale and Aker's Narvik campus, more than 200km north of the Arctic Circle and run on hydropower, supplies Microsoft Azure with AI compute from 2026. Microsoft's own EMEA feature confirms the partners, the Narvik location and the $6.2 billion deal value, but does not state a chip count; only Nscale's release gives the hardware figure, more than 30,000 NVIDIA Rubin GPUs on a 230MW campus, so the tier stays reported rather than verified. Rubin had not shipped at announcement time, so this is a forward capacity commitment rather than an installed system. No FLOPS or HPL figure exists for it.
Timeline
- 2025-09 Announced source
Site & facility
Nscale Narvik campus
- Location
- Narvik, Norway
- Substation
- 230 MW
- Commissioned
- 2026
Change history
- 2026-10-04 Added AI datacenter metrics for microsoft-nscale-narvik-norway
- 2026-09-23 Added Microsoft/Nscale Narvik Norway AI datacenter
Source check
We fetched this system's own citations and recorded whether each page actually mentions it. This is a corroboration signal, not a fact check, and it is published so you can see how well the sourcing holds up rather than take it on trust.
| Cited source | Result | Found on the page |
|---|---|---|
| news.microsoft.com | names system only | - |
| nscale.com | names system, part and count | NVIDIA Vera Rubin · counts: 30000 |
Checked 2026-10-09 by pnpm verify. Re-run it and the table changes with the web.