Quantum/Machines/ORNL Pathfinder
USA · operational · Superconducting circuits
ORNL Pathfinder
ORNL Pathfinder is a superconducting circuits quantum computer operated by Oak Ridge National Laboratory in USA. It has 20 physical qubits. It ranks 35 of 43 superconducting machines in this table by physical qubit count. 12 sourced specs are in the spec sheet. No benchmark figures are recorded for it yet.
Also known as IQM Radiance at ORNL
ORNL's first on-premises quantum computer, a 20-qubit IQM Radiance system launched on 16 June 2026 in the Quantum Computer Deployment Lab of the Translational Research Capability building. It connects to HPC systems in the NCCS Technology Integration Group test bed, and ORNL says it will be used with Frontier to develop hybrid workflows, but no direct Frontier link is stated, so no hpc_system_id is set. ORNL also operates a 6-qubit system named Quoll.
Spec sheet
Technical details as the builder or a paper states them, each with its own source. A blank is a fact we could not source, not a zero. Fidelity and coherence figures are in the benchmark table below.
| Spec | Value | Basis | Note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Processor | IQM Radiance 20-qubit quantum processor | Vendor reported | ORNL calls the system Pathfinder; IQM offers Radiance in 20, 54 and 150 qubit sizes. | ornl.goviqm.tech |
| Qubit type | flux-tunable transmon (IQM qubit crystal family) | Vendor reported | Family-wide: from IQM's 20-qubit white paper, not an ORNL document. | arxiv.org |
| Topology | square lattice with tunable couplers (IQM qubit crystal family) | Vendor reported | Family-wide; ORNL pages do not state the topology. | iqm.techarxiv.org |
| Max connectivity | 4 | Vendor reported | Inferred from the square nearest-neighbour lattice; family-wide, not stated by ORNL. | arxiv.org |
| Native gates | arbitrary X and Y rotations (PRX) and CZ | Vendor reported | IQM Radiance product page lists CZ as the native two-qubit gate. | iqm.techarxiv.org |
| Single-qubit gate time | 40 ns | Vendor reported | IQM Radiance page quotes a typical PRX duration of at most 40 ns; it is a product specification, not a measurement at ORNL. | iqm.tech |
| Two-qubit gate time | 60 ns | Vendor reported | IQM page quotes typical CZ of at most 60 ns; the Garnet white paper says typically 20 to 40 ns. | iqm.techarxiv.org |
| Cooling and environment | Bluefors dilution refrigerator: 4 K stage with helium compressors, base below 10 mK | Vendor reported | ORNL and OLCF pages are the same organisation. | ornl.govolcf.ornl.gov |
| Operating temperature | 10 mK | Vendor reported | ORNL says base temperature of the superconducting internals is less than 10 mK, so 10 is an upper bound. | ornl.govolcf.ornl.gov |
| Power draw | 24 kW | Vendor reported | IQM lists 24 kW typical for its 20-qubit Radiance configuration; ORNL does not state the draw. | iqm.tech |
| Fabrication | IQM fabrication facility in Espoo, Finland, flip-chip stack | Vendor reported | Family-wide statement from IQM's white paper; ORNL does not describe fabrication. | arxiv.org |
| Access and pricing | on-premises: owned and operated by ORNL, linked to the NCCS HPC test bed | Vendor reported | Described as ORNL's first commercially procured quantum computer; no external access or price is stated. | ornl.govthequantuminsider.com |
Timeline
- 2026-06-16: First operational
- 2026-10-04: Status checked: operational
Comparable superconducting machines
Closest in physical qubit count within the same technology. Counts of different qubit types are not interchangeable across technologies.
| Machine | Operator | Qubits | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| IQM Garnet | IQM Quantum Computers | 20 | operational |
| IQM Radiance 20 for TOYO at G-QuAT | TOYO Corporation | 20 | planned |
| Alice & Bob Helium | Alice & Bob | 18 | operational |
| VLQ | IT4Innovations | 24 | operational |
| Rigetti 24-Qubit Testbed at NQCC | National Quantum Computing Centre | 24 | operational |
| OQC GENESIS (New York) | Oxford Quantum Circuits | 16 | under construction |