Quantum/Machines/Infleqtion Sqale at NQCC
United Kingdom · operational · Neutral atoms
Infleqtion Sqale at NQCC
Infleqtion Sqale at NQCC is a neutral atoms quantum computer operated by National Quantum Computing Centre in United Kingdom. It has 100 physical qubits. It ranks 7 of 10 neutral atom machines in this table by physical qubit count. 11 sourced specs are in the spec sheet. 2 published benchmark or milestone records are listed below, each marked by who measured it.
Also known as Sqale
A 100-physical-qubit Infleqtion Sqale system delivered to the NQCC at Harwell, announced 15 March 2026 and described as the UK's only operational 100-qubit machine. Infleqtion separately cites 99.73% two-qubit gate fidelity and 30 entangled logical qubits from 80 physical qubits on Sqale. Those figures are stated for the platform and not specifically for the NQCC unit. The atom species is not stated in the sources consulted.
Spec sheet
Technical details as the builder or a paper states them, each with its own source. A blank is a fact we could not source, not a zero. Fidelity and coherence figures are in the benchmark table below.
| Spec | Value | Basis | Note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Processor | Infleqtion Sqale neutral-atom platform, 100 physical qubits | Vendor reported | Infleqtion says the 100-physical-qubit milestone was reached in December 2025 and delivered to the NQCC; NQCC lists Sqale among its seven testbeds. | infleqtion.comnqcc.ac.uk |
| Qubit type | 133Cs hyperfine clock-state atom | Peer reviewed | Infleqtion paper (PRX Quantum, arXiv 2408.08288) on its Sqale architecture with Cs atoms; not stated for the NQCC unit itself. | arxiv.org |
| Topology | All-to-all connectivity with individual optical addressing | Vendor reported | Vendor spec table lists all-to-all; the paper describes nearest-neighbor CZ gates between individually addressed atoms, so the two sources differ. | infleqtion.comarxiv.org |
| Native gates | Global microwave R(theta, phi), local RZ(phi), Rydberg CZ | Peer reviewed | Gate set reported for the Infleqtion Sqale lab system in the paper; platform-level, not the NQCC unit. | arxiv.orginfleqtion.com |
| Single-qubit gate time | 250 ns | Peer reviewed | Local RZ(pi) gate time in the paper; the global microwave R(pi) gate takes 4.1 us. Lab system, not the NQCC unit. | arxiv.org |
| Two-qubit gate time | 416 ns | Peer reviewed | Duration of the Rydberg pulse in the CZ gate (7.85 over Omega) on the paper's 24-qubit lab system; single pair, not the NQCC unit. | arxiv.org |
| Cooling and environment | Laser-cooled atoms in a glass vacuum cell, Raman sideband cooling to about 2.6 microkelvin | Peer reviewed | Measured on the paper's lab system; trap vacuum lifetime 26 s. | arxiv.org |
| Software | Superstaq compiler with Cirq and Qiskit front ends | Vendor reported | Paper notes circuits are submitted via the cloud and compiled with Superstaq. | infleqtion.comarxiv.org |
| Access and pricing | On-premises testbed at the NQCC for researchers and industry; vendor lists Sqale cloud as private beta | Vendor reported | Infleqtion release (2026-03-16) says NQCC researchers can evaluate and benchmark the system; no price published. | infleqtion.cominfleqtion.com |
| Successor | Next Sqale generation: 500+ physical qubits, 50+ logical qubits with error detection | Vendor reported | Infleqtion Sqale spec table shows an upcoming generation open for pre-order; roadmap updated September 2025. | infleqtion.com |
| Roadmap | More than 30 logical qubits in 2026 and more than 100 logical qubits in 2028, toward fault tolerance | Vendor reported | Stated in Infleqtion's 2026-03-16 release; the company later reported 30 entangled logical qubits on Sqale. | infleqtion.cominfleqtion.com |
Published benchmark figures
These are numbers the builder or a paper reports for this machine, not results from a common test. The basis column says who measured them. What the metrics mean and why they are not comparable across technologies.
| Metric | Value | Measured | Basis | Note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Two-qubit gate fidelity | 99.73% | 2025-12 | Vendor reported | Infleqtion states 99.73% for its Sqale platform (Dec 2025); not stated specifically for the NQCC unit | thequantuminsider.com |
Milestone claims
- Infleqtion: 30 entangled logical qubits from 80 physical qubits on Sqale, signal ~1000x noise; platform claim, not stated for NQCC unit (2026-09-24, vendor reported) sec.gov
Timeline
- 2026-03: First operational
- 2026-03-16: Status checked: operational
More from National Quantum Computing Centre
- Oxford Ionics QUARTET (operational)
- ORCA PT-2 at NQCC (operational)
- Quantum Motion at NQCC (operational)
- Rigetti 24-Qubit Testbed at NQCC (operational, 24 qubits)
- Aegiq ARTEMIS at NQCC (operational)
- QuEra Testbed at NQCC (under construction)
Comparable neutral atom machines
Closest in physical qubit count within the same technology. Counts of different qubit types are not interchangeable across technologies.
| Machine | Operator | Qubits | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pasqal Fresnel | Pasqal | 100 | operational |
| Pasqal Ruby | GENCI | 100 | operational |
| Pasqal JADE | Forschungszentrum Julich | 100 | operational |
| Pasqal SOL | CINECA | 140 | operational |
| Aramco Pasqal QPU | Saudi Aramco | 200 | operational |
| QuEra Aquila | QuEra Computing | 256 | operational |