COMPUTE ATLAS Supercomputer supply-chain graph
1153 systems 482 sites Sourced data

Supercomputers/Systems/Coatlicue

Mexico · planned · ai training

Coatlicue

Also known as Supercomputadora Coatlicue

Operated by National Polytechnic Institute (IPN) at IPN Zacatenco Campus .

Phase 1 seed dataset, compiled by hand. These rows were built from public operator, laboratory and vendor sources. A mechanical second-reader pass has since fetched every cited source: 1092 of 1153 systems have a readable citation that names them, and 40 are genuinely weakly sourced. Every claim carries its source and a confidence tier. Treat anything below verified as a lead, not a citation.

Measured performance

Rmax
-
operator stated
Rpeak
314.0 PFlop/s
Rmax ÷ Rpeak
-
Cores
-
Power
-
Per watt
- GF/W

Figures are as last publicly reported for the configuration described below, not a live measurement. Where a system was upgraded in place, the post-upgrade configuration is shown and the earlier one appears in the timeline.

What this machine is made of

One row per supplier relationship. “Supplier at build” is the company that shipped the part at the time; where that company has since been acquired, the parent it rolls up to today is shown beside it. That distinction is what makes ticker-level aggregation possible across a thirty-year dataset.

Role Part Supplier at build Quantity Confidence Source
Accelerator -
14,480 GPUs (count from the government announcement; NVIDIA named as GPU supplier in press interview, model not stated)
NVIDIA 14,480
reported
Reported gob.mxelimparcial.com

The read

Mexico's planned public supercomputer, presented by the Mexican government in November 2025 through Secihti and the Digital Transformation Agency (ATDT) for about 6 billion pesos. The government announcement states 314 petaflops and 14,480 GPUs, with a 24-month build; the numeric precision behind the 314 petaflops is not stated, so it is recorded as an operator-stated peak only. An ATDT release on the technical committee names the IPN Zacatenco unit as its seat, and an IPN article describes IPN, Infotec and IPICYT coordinating construction with support from the Barcelona Supercomputing Center and India's C-DAC and states that about 20 megawatts of supply are required. Press interviews (El Imparcial, 1 June 2026, quoting an NVIDIA Latin America director) say the 14,480 GPUs come from NVIDIA, which co-designs the architecture; the GPU model, system integrator and construction start date are not firmly stated and reports of the start differ (January, August or October 2026). Interim capacity is reported at the Barcelona Supercomputing Center. Not yet built; the operator listed is the IPN as announced host, with Secihti and ATDT leading governance.

Timeline

Site & facility

IPN Zacatenco Campus

Location
Mexico City, Mexico

Change history

Source check

We fetched this system's own citations and recorded whether each page actually mentions it. This is a corroboration signal, not a fact check, and it is published so you can see how well the sourcing holds up rather than take it on trust.

Cited sourceResultFound on the page
gob.mxnames system only-
ipn.mxnames system only-

Checked 2026-10-09 by pnpm verify. Re-run it and the table changes with the web.

Further reading